Leading Health Policy, Immuno-Oncology Experts Join Board of Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation

Vicki Kilpatrick
Peterson & Boxer

Alexandria, Va. - Conquer Cancer®, the ASCO Foundation, welcomes two new members to its Board of Directors in 2020. National health care policy leader and urologist, Richard J. Boxer, MD, FACS, and global pharmaceutical developer and immuno-oncology expert Amy Peterson, MD, will help guide Conquer Cancer in its support of funding breakthrough research for every type of cancer.

“Experts from oncology and other diverse business areas come together to lead Conquer Cancer toward advancing its mission of conquering cancer worldwide and sharing cutting-edge knowledge,” said Board Chair Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD, FASCO. “We are pleased to welcome the viewpoints and experiences of our newest members, and we are grateful for their willingness to volunteer time and resources to ensuring the brightest minds in cancer research have the vital support needed to advance patient care.”

Richard J. Boxer, MD, FACS is a clinical professor of urology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA and a national leader in healthcare and cannabis policies and an international leader in telemedicine. Dr. Boxer graduated from the University of Wisconsin undergraduate and medical schools with high honors and completed his training at UCLA in urology. He has been a health policy senior adviser to the White House, Health and Human Services secretaries, U.S. senators and representatives, governors, and numerous U.S. presidential candidates. He was appointed to the Boards of the National Cancer Institute and the National Institute of Diabetes, Kidney, and Digestive Diseases. As a private citizen, he represented the U.S. at the World Health Organization. He was a finalist for Surgeon General of the U.S. in 1997 and 2001, under the Clinton and Bush Administrations. Dr. Boxer has had OP-EDs recently published in the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, JAMA, Harvard Business Review and numerous medical journals on health policy, cannabis, the opioid crisis, and veterans’ issues. He has published 75 medical journal articles, 14 book chapters and has delivered 65 invited lectureships. Dr. Boxer helped create the telemedicine industry in the private sector 15 years ago, changing the paradigm of healthcare delivery and bringing health care to millions of Americans.

Amy Peterson, MD, is the executive vice president and chief development officer of CytomX Therapeutics, with more than 20 years of drug development experience in oncology. Prior to joining CytomX in October 2019, Dr. Peterson was chief medical officer of immuno-oncology at BeiGene, Ltd. (2016-2019), where she created and led a global oncology development organization with direct medical oversight and accountability of seven clinical assets in more than thirty global trials, in all phases of development in solid tumor indications. Prior to BeiGene, Dr. Peterson was vice president of clinical development at Medivation (2011-2016) where she was primarily responsible for the development of enzalutamide (XTANDI®) and talazoparib (TALZENNA®) in breast cancer. Previously, Dr. Peterson served as associate group medical director at Genentech (2005-2011), where she was responsible for the development of early stage molecules targeting multiple major pathways in oncology. Prior to joining Genentech, Dr. Peterson was an instructor of medicine in oncology at the University of Chicago, where she also completed her fellowship and conducted translational research in tumor immunology in conjunction with Dr. Thomas F. Gajewski (2000-2005). Dr. Peterson completed her residency in internal medicine at Northwestern Memorial Hospital after receiving her MD from Thomas Jefferson University and her BA degree from Wesleyan University.

The following members of the Board of Directors have been appointed to officer positions for a one-year term to end December 31, 2020:

  • Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD, FASCO, Chair
  • Alexander Casdin, Treasurer
  • Sandra M. Swain, MD, FACP, FASCO, Secretary

Reappointed board members for a three-year term to end December 31, 2022:

  • Riccardo Braglia
  • Alexander Casdin
  • Susan L. Cohn, MD, FASCO
  • Raj Mantena, RPh


View the full Board of Directors.