Conquer Cancer Honors Rising Oncology Professionals

Vicki Kilpatrick
G&A logo. Orange background.

Alexandria, Va. – Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation, today announced the recipients of its 2021 Medical Student Rotation for Underrepresented Populations (MSR) and Annual Meeting Research Award (AMRA). These programs are focused on improving diversity in the oncology workforce by creating a pathway to encourage further engagement within the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) and the oncology community. 

The MSR provides clinical or clinical research rotations for U.S. medical students from underrepresented populations in medicine who are interested in a career in oncology and pairs them with an oncology mentor. Award recipients participate in a 4-week rotation in a variety of care and research settings. 

The 2021 MSR recipients include:  

  • Oluwatosin Afolabi, Temple University School of Medicine 
  • Melaku Arega, Harvard Medical School 
  • Santiago Avila, University of Chicago 
  • Corina Beiner, Boston University School of Medicine 
  • Nigel Blackwood, Tulane University 
  • Sydnee Brown, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston McGovern Medical School 
  • Kelli Clemons, Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University 
  • Ramon Correa, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine 
  • Evan de Joya, University of Miami – Miller School of Medicine 
  • Pauline Flaum-Dunoyer, Weill Cornell Medical College 
  • Rosa Lizeth Frias, San Juan Bautista School of Medicine 
  • Rebeca Gonzalez Jauregui, University of Colorado 
  • Catherine Gutierrez, PhD, Harvard Medical School 
  • Norman Harris II, Temple University School of Medicine 
  • Valencia Henry, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine- Carolina 
  • Linda My Huynh, MSc, University of Nebraska Medical Center 
  • Josué Martes, Ponce Health Sciences University 
  • Edwin McCray, Duke University Department of Anesthesiology  
  • Jasmine O. Patterson, Medical College of Georgia 
  • Mariah R. Perkins, Texas Tech University Paul L Foster School of Medicine 
  • Esther Oluwadamilola Soyebo, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston McGovern Medical School 
  • Eliora Tesfaye, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston McGovern Medical School 
  • Jonathon Tyes, University of Louisville 
  • José C Valentín López, University of Minnesota 
  • Maia Valls Palacios Reese, Ponce School of Medicine 
  • Britney Wilson, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School 

The AMRA, formerly the Resident Travel Award, provides funding for medical residents from underrepresented populations in medicine to attend an ASCO Annual Meeting, where recipients will get the chance to network with oncologists, attend educational sessions, and develop a deeper understanding of the oncology field.  

The 2021 AMRA recipients include:  

  • Facundo Davaro, MD, Saint Louis University Hospital 
  • Raleigh Fatoki, MD, MBA, Kaiser Permanente  
  • Wesley A. Gordon, MD, Emory University Hospital 
  • Juliet Meir, MD, Westchester Medical Center 
  • Mwanasha Hamuza Merrill, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 
  • Angela Ramdhanny, MD, Winthrop University Hospital 
  • Ian A. Roundtree, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital 

The 2021 Medical Student Rotations were generously supported by Amgen, AstraZeneca, Bristol Myers Squibb, Daiichi Sankyo, Inc., Gilead Sciences, Inc., Mission Endowment of Conquer Cancer®, the ASCO Foundation, The New York Community Trust, Heidi Paoli Fund, and TAIHO Oncology, Inc. 

The 2021 Annual Meeting Research Awards were generously supported by AbbVie, Inc., Kite, a Gilead Company, and Leap Therapeutics, Inc.