Conquer Cancer Announces 2021 Genitourinary Cancers Symposium Merit Awards

Vicki Kilpatrick
Genitourinary Cancers Symposium (shaded dark blue) on top of the Conquer Cancer logo, adjacent to 'Merit Award Recipient'

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2021 Genitourinary Cancers Symposium Merit Awards.  

These distinguished awards recognize oncology fellows and trainees who are first authors on top-ranking abstracts selected for presentation at the virtual Genitourinary Cancers Symposium on February 11-13, 2021.   

These 15 oncology professionals are recognized for their respective field and research advancements within the cancer care community:   

Vincent Chau, MD, PhD - National Institutes of Health 

Manuel Ricardo Espinoza-Gutarra, MD - Indiana University 

Chun Loo Gan, MBBS, FRACP - Tom Baker Cancer Center - University of Calgary 

Jack Patrick Gleason, MRCP, MBBCh - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Andrew Warren Hahn, MD - The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center 

Laure Hirsch, MD - Cochin Hospital - Paris Descartes University 

Tamer Khashab, MD - Harris Health/Ben Taub Hospital and Baylor College of Medicine 

Daniel Kwon, MD - University of California, San Franciso 

Daniel E. Lage, MD, MSc - Harvard Medical School 

Andrew Thomas Lenis, MD - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Nicolas Sayegh, MD - Huntsman Cancer Institute - University of Utah Health Care 

Vidit Sharma, MD - University of California, Los Angeles 

Hong Truong, MD, MS - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Matthew D. Tucker, MD - Vanderbilt University Medical Center 

Risa Liang Wong, MD - Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center 



The 2021 Conquer Cancer Merit Awards are supported by:  

Anonymous, AbbVie, Inc., ASCO Employees, Association of Northern California Oncologists, AstraZeneca, BeiGene, Friends and Family of Dr. and Mrs. Ronald Beller, The Berry Family, Dr. and Mrs. Douglas W. Blayney, Bristol Myers Squibb, Jonathan K. and Cora Y. Cho Charitable Fund, Eisai Inc., Estate of Darla C. Ellis, Epiphany Partners Inc., G1 Therapeutics, GlaxoSmithKline Oncology, Harborside, Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals Inc., Friends, Colleagues, and Family of Joe Hogan, Kimberly Irvine, Michael Kelley, MD & Elise Hoffman, PharmD, Nicole M. Kuderer, MD and Gary H. Lyman, MD, MPH, FASCO, William T. Leslie, MD, Lilly, Loxo Oncology Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Eli Lilly and Company, Therese Marie Mulvey, MD, FASCO, Friends and Family of Dr. James B. Nachman, New Rhein Healthcare, LLC, Pharmacyclics LLC, an AbbVie Company and Janssen Biotech, Inc., Dr. Kathleen Pritchard Medicine Professional Corporation, Sarah Cannon Research Institute, Frances A. Shepherd, MD, FASCO, Stephen A. Sherwin, MD, Drs. Rachna and Puneet Shroff, Syndax Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Nizar M. Tannir, MD, Anthony and Marilyn Tolcher and Dr. Michael and Deborah Troner.