Conquer Cancer Announces 2021 Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium Merit Awards

Vicki Kilpatrick
Gastrointestional Cancers Symposium (shaded olive green) on top of the Conquer Cancer logo, adjacent to 'Merit Award Recipient'

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2021 Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium Merit Awards.  

These distinguished awards recognize oncology fellows and trainees who are first authors on top-ranking abstracts selected for presentation at the virtual Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium on January 15 – 17, 2021. 

These 15 oncology professionals are recognized for their respective field and research advancements within the cancer care community:   

Carla Pires Amaro, MD - Tom Baker Cancer Center, University of Calgary 

Hiroyuki Arai, MD, PhD - USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, Keck School of Medicine 

Avani Athauda, MBBS, MRCP - The Royal Marsden Hospital 

Francesca Battaglin, MD - USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, Keck School of Medicine 

Medhavi Gupta, MD - Roswell Park Cancer Institute 

Shravan Leonard-Murali, MD - Henry Ford Hospital 

Ryan H. Moy, MD, PhD - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Abhinav Rohatgi, MD - Winthrop Oncology Hematology Associates 

Massimiliano Salati, MD - University Hospital of Modena 

Douglas S. Swords, MD, MS - The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center 

Elaine Tan, MD - University of South Florida 

Erica S. Tsang, FRCPC, MD – BC Cancer 

Eirini Tsotra, MD - Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust 

Jingyuan Wang, PhD - USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, Keck School of Medicine 

Christopher Williams, MBChB, MRCP - Leeds Institute of Medical Research at St. James's, University of Leeds 



The 2021 Conquer Cancer Merit Awards are supported by:  

Anonymous, ASCO Employees, Association of Northern California Oncologists, AstraZeneca, Friends and Family of Dr. and Mrs. Ronald Beller, The Berry Family, Dr. and Mrs. Douglas W. Blayney, Bristol Myers Squibb, Jonathan K. and Cora Y. Cho Charitable Fund, Eisai Inc., Estate of Darla C. Ellis, Epiphany Partners Inc., G1 Therapeutics, GlaxoSmithKline Oncology, Harborside, Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals Inc., Friends, Colleagues, and Family of Joe Hogan, Kimberly Irvine, Michael Kelley, MD & Elise Hoffman, PharmD, Nicole M. Kuderer, MD and Gary H. Lyman, MD, MPH, FASCO, William T. Leslie, MD, Lilly, Loxo Oncology Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Eli Lilly and Company, Therese Marie Mulvey, MD, FASCO, Friends and Family of Dr. James B. Nachman, New Rhein Healthcare, LLC, Pharmacyclics LLC, an AbbVie Company and Janssen Biotech, Inc., Dr. Kathleen Pritchard Medicine Professional Corporation, Sarah Cannon Research Institute, Frances A. Shepherd, MD, FASCO, Stephen A. Sherwin, MD, Drs. Rachna and Puneet Shroff, Syndax Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Nizar M. Tannir, MD, Anthony and Marilyn Tolcher and Dr. Michael and Deborah Troner.