Conquer Cancer announces 2020 WWCC Mentorship Awards

Vicki Kilpatrick
dr siu and dr hershman

Alexandria, Va. – Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation is pleased to announce Dawn L. Hershman, MD, MS, FASCO is the Hologic, Inc Endowed Women Who Conquer Cancer Mentorship Award recipient and  Lillian L. Siu, MD, FRCPC, FASCO, is the International Women Who Conquer Cancer Mentorship Award recipient.

The 2020 Women Who Conquer Cancer (WWCC) Mentorship Awards recognize female leaders in oncology who are role models and mentors to women training to be cancer clinicians, educators, or researchers. WWCC supports and celebrates the women dedicated to advancing the discoveries of oncology’s emerging female leaders. 

Dr. Hershman is a professor of medicine and epidemiology and leader of the Breast Cancer Program at Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center, Columbia University Medical Center. Dr. Hershman is a nationally recognized expert in breast cancer treatment, prevention, and survivorship. Her research focuses on improving cancer care delivery, reducing disparities, and improving the quality of life and quality of care of breast cancer survivors. 
Dr. Siu is a senior medical oncologist and clinician scientist in the Cancer Clinical Research Unit at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and a professor of medicine at the University of Toronto, Canada. Dr. Siu’s primary research focus is in the area of new anticancer drug development, particularly phase I trials and head and neck malignancies. 

The honorees, who were selected from a remarkable group of nominees, will be recognized during the ASCO Virtual Scientific Program May 29-31, 2020.  ASCO will also honor Special Award Recipients who have worked to transform cancer care around the world. 

The 2020 ASCO and Conquer Cancer Special Awards are supported by:
ASCO-American Cancer Society Award and Lecture; Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine/Association of Specialty Professors for the B.J. Kennedy Award and Lecture for Scientific Excellence in Geriatric Oncology; GlaxoSmithKline Oncology for the Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award and Lecture; Hologic, Inc for the Hologic, Inc Endowed Women Who Conquer Cancer Mentorship Award; Eisai Inc. for the International Women Who Conquer Cancer Mentorship Award; and Walther Cancer Foundation for the Walther Cancer Foundation Palliative and Supportive Care in Oncology Endowed Award and Lecture